a month in Kalutara

country roads take me to Kalutara Hospital , where i belong

 

Paediatrics first appointment was over so fast, it was at Kalutara General Hospital. 1 month had gone by in the blink of an eye. I thought it was gonna be a stress free appointment, lots of free time but I was wrong. It was very hectic, casualty 3-4 days a week and weekend casualty every other week. And to make things worse, I had to go to a hospital 1.5 hrs from where I live.

I got used to a daily routine, waking up at 4:45 am with bloodshot eyes, shower, breakfast and walk to the bus stop like a zombie or some days like Usain Bolt if i am late, dont wanna miss the 6 am bus. Come home some days at around 2 pm (If i skip lectures, which I do like 90% of time) and then have lunch and rest a bit, or on casualty days I reach home at 11 pm.

This appointment was so far the most productive ones, we had really good House Officers, a Resgitrar and a very nice Consultant, who wanted us to learn as much as possible and she made sure the doctors also taught us the important and most common Paediatric cases. I wish we get more consultants like that, I am not a fan of spoon feeding, but it is nice to have someone who guides us, since most of the time we are clueless as this is our first appointments. We just need to be motivated and she gave that push we/I needed. I am very grateful for everyone at Ward 10.

One other good thing of a busy clinical posting is, I dont have sleep problems, I come home too tired, I just fall asleep. And for the first time, I have stayed in for over a month ,  I didnt go out other than to Kalutara Hospital this month, that’s a personal best, and a first time!!! Thanks to clinicals draining my bank account or these days I just don’t like to go out, not that I am depressed or anything, I just miss sleep.

Kalutara wasn’t that bad, although I have had my fair share of weird encounters, the only problem was the distance. I will miss going to Perera and Sons (infront of the Hospital) . Most probably I will have to come to Kalutara again for another appointment, but for now Goodbye Kalutara and See you soon (not) .

Next up is  Gyn&Ob at Mulleriyawa Base Hospital, thats also not near, but not as far as Kalutara. Another hectic appointment, already counting down days for Sri Lanka New Year Holidays to go home and chill.

PS : Writing a blog post is really hard work for me now, feels like Im having writers block.

 

  ” The art of medicine consists in amusing the patient while nature cures the disease “

Published by officialaarish

Here I write about basically everything, my main purpose of this is to actually for me to read this at a later point in life and smile and reflect on, which I do occasionally. Apart from spending time in hospital, coming home and stressing over academics, I like to daydream ("i could have —") imagine myself vacationing somewhere, I love to write (and not everything I write is shared public, there are few private posts), I love to sleep and watch movies. Im not as social as I once was. I truly express my emotions by writing, although in my mind I do break a few things around me when Im overwhelmed. If you wanna read about my adventures, some rants and med school posts give a follow !

4 thoughts on “a month in Kalutara

Leave a comment